Sri Chanappa Nagappa Muchalagoda v. Divisional Manager, New India Insurance Company Limited

Civil Appeal · 2019 INSC 1345Decided 10 Dec 2019
Civil Appeal No. 9306 of 2019
Justice Uday Umesh Lalit · Justice Indu Malhotra

Background

The appellant, a truck driver, suffered grievous injuries in a 2006 road accident when his sand-loaded truck lost control due to an axle fault and overturned. He sustained severe injuries to his right leg (ligament tears requiring plastic surgery) that permanently disabled him from continuing work as a driver. He filed a claim under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 before the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation seeking Rs. 5,00,000, and the matter eventually reached the Karnataka High Court (Dharwad Bench), which awarded a lower amount than claimed.

Decision Breakdown

The Supreme Court affirmed the High Court's assessment of the appellant's monthly income at Rs. 4,000 based on his employer's evidence, but held that his functional disability should be assessed at 100% given that his injuries left him unable to walk without a stick, unable to continue as a driver, and disqualified even from holding a driving licence, making him unfit for any comparable manual labour as well. Applying the age-based multiplier (relevant factor 201.66) under Schedule IV of the Act, the Court recalculated the compensation at Rs. 4,83,984, and separately awarded a lump sum of Rs. 1,00,000 towards medical and hospitalization expenses that had not been granted earlier. The insurance company was directed to pay the enhanced compensation with 6% annual interest from one month after the accident date, within four weeks, and the appeal was allowed.

Lesson Learnt

In compensation claims under the Workmen's Compensation Act, "functional disability" (the real-world loss of earning capacity in one's actual occupation) can be assessed as 100% even if the medical/physical disability percentage is lower, if the injury effectively ends the claimant's ability to work in their trade or any comparable one, and unreimbursed medical expenses can be separately claimed and awarded.

Labour & Industrial LawDelhi High Court

DTC vs. Shri Braham Prakash

The Court held that a writ court exercising supervisory jurisdiction cannot re-appreciate evidence like an appellate court, and can interfere only if the Tribunal's view was not a plausible one. It found the Tribunal's reasoning sound: the surrendered "unpunched tickets" bore signatures that didn't match the conductor's admitted signature, casting doubt on the management's case, and the sole checking-staff witness was uncorroborated. However, since more than three decades had passed, the workman had already reached superannuation, and he had been paid wages under Section 17-B of the Industrial Disputes Act throughout, the Court held reinstatement itself was no longer appropriate. It modified the award to a lumpsum compensation of Rs. 4,00,000 in lieu of reinstatement.

Decided 17 Sept 2026Read case
Labour & Industrial LawDelhi High Court

Indian Oil Corporation Ltd vs. Raj Kumar

The Court held that Section 11A of the Industrial Disputes Act expressly empowers a Labour Court to modify a disproportionate punishment even where the misconduct itself is proved. Since the Tribunal had not disturbed the finding of guilt and had only exercised its discretion on quantum, considering the workman's long service and disability, the Court found this to be a plausible and reasoned view. A writ court exercising supervisory jurisdiction does not substitute its own view merely because another view on punishment is also possible.

Decided 17 Sept 2026Read case
Labour & Industrial LawDelhi High Court

Varun Juneja vs. Soniya

The High Court revised the compensation upward, since the employer had itself admitted paying the deceased Rs. 18,000 per month (not the lower Rs. 15,000 minimum-wage figure the Commissioner had used), raising the total compensation to Rs. 15,57,680. On the separate question of penalty, the employer argued the maximum 50% penalty was too harsh, but the Court upheld it, noting the employer only deposited money after the family was forced to start recovery proceedings, more than three and a half years after the death, with no voluntary payment at any point.

Decided 17 Sept 2026Read case
Labour & Industrial LawDelhi High Court

Sri Bhagwan vs. Delhi Transport Corporation

The Court found the Tribunal had rightly relied on the workman's own clear admission in his enquiry reply, and that he never produced any medical evidence to back his claim of having been unwell. It rejected the argument that a small monetary amount automatically makes dismissal disproportionate, citing Supreme Court rulings that in cases of dishonesty or fraud (as opposed to mere carelessness), even a petty misappropriated sum can justify dismissal, because it is the breach of trust, not the rupee amount, that matters. Given the workman's admission and prior disciplinary history, the removal was upheld and the petition dismissed.

Decided 16 Sept 2026Read case
Labour & Industrial LawDelhi High Court

Delhi Transport Corporation vs. Balwan Singh

The Court held that non-examination of the ticketless passengers does not by itself invalidate the enquiry: credible hearsay evidence from checking staff, corroborated by signed passenger statements, was enough to prove the misconduct on a preponderance of probabilities. It agreed the Labour Court should not have shown leniency on punishment purely on sympathetic grounds once guilt was affirmed, citing Supreme Court rulings that even small-value ticket fraud can justify removal since it is a breach of trust, not merely a monetary loss. However, since the Labour Court's actual interference was limited to preserving pension/retiral benefits (not full reinstatement), the Court chose not to strip that narrow relief away after more than a decade, but capped the total payout at ₹5,00,000, to be released from the sum already deposited with the Court.

Decided 16 Sept 2026Read case
Labour & Industrial LawDelhi High Court

Sunil Kumar vs. M/S Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Ltd.

The High Court held that its power to review the tribunal's factual findings is very limited, and it would not re-weigh evidence just because another view was possible. It upheld the tribunal's findings that all three charges of misconduct were proved through credible witness testimony, rejecting the driver's technical objections (such as an attendance register not showing his name, which if anything supported the charge of unauthorized absence). However, the Court excluded from consideration one aspect of the evidence: testimony about a 2010 incident that occurred after his removal, which the tribunal itself had earlier ruled irrelevant but then still referenced. Despite upholding the misconduct findings, the Court found the punishment of outright removal "shockingly disproportionate" given the relatively minor nature of the proven acts and his 8-9 years of otherwise satisfactory service.

Decided 16 Sept 2026Read case